Has your kik account been hacked? Irritated by the constant message popping up like crazy? Receiving too many spam messages? Well then this article is totally for you. Maybe all you need to do is start afresh. Here in this article we will be looking at how to delete kik account, and not just delete, let me rephrase- how to permanently delete kik account. We will also be looking at clearing the history of your conversation and in case if you want to join back, so how can you do that?
After the recent controversies with the KIK app of it being inappropriate for the under aged minors, due to its anonymity features and allegedly weak parental control mechanisms it was banned in many countries and many users opted out of it. So in that case, you now have two options to perform, you can either delete kik account permanently or simply can take a break.
If you are just taking a short break
You need not necessarily delete your account permanently. Simply informing your contacts that you are taking a break will work. All you need to do is log out of the application on your mobile phone, you can log in again after sometime. But if you are wondering that how do I delete my kik account, then let me help you up.
But in case, you willing for a break, all you have to do is remember your email id and password of your Kik account. You can even uninstall the app and reinstall as and when required. Before you’re going to delete kik account permanently you can try some alternative options like upgrading to a newer version of Kik or so. But if you have made your mind up to delete kik account, let me walk you through the process of how to permanently delete kik account.
Want to remove your Kik account? Deactivating your account requires Android users eliminate the application completely first, then utilize a friend to stop the account altogether. Whilst it is a bit complicated, this is actually the only way you are able to make sure your Kik bill is removed in the service. Kik is a free message service that’s very popular in a few communities. It’s a simple download and makes communicating, movie and sharing simple. The company is part social network and aspect chat software and doesn’t like to allow you to go. Even if you cancel your Kik bill, it isn’t shut down for good. However, I’ll demonstrate how to completely delete your Kik account below.
And if you wondering just to deactivate your account but are not sure what the difference is between, delete kik account permanently and deactivating it, deactivating your account means:
- You’ll no longer receive Kik messages, or emails from Kik.
- Your Kik username won’t be searchable anywhere.
- Your name will be deleted from the Kik contacts lists of people you’ve talked to.
How to easily Delete kik account
Kik messenger cannot be deleted from the app itself you have to follow these steps which are provided below. Also, same process needs to follow to delete kik account iPhone.
- Open the Kik App, find and tap on settings. You will find a gear option on the top right corner.
- Once into settings, Select the option ‘Your Account’.
- Inside the section you will find Log out option. Tap on Log Out option.
For older versions of Kik you won’t find a ‘Log out’ option. Instead there is a ‘Deactivate account’ option which is similar to the ‘Log out’ option. You can go ahead with that option.
- Visit the deactivation link, which is official provided by Kik – http://ws.kik.com/deactivate
- Enter the email address that’s registered to your Kik account on the
- Click on the green ‘Go’ button.
- A confirmation email will be sent to your email, confirm it.
If after clicking on the green ‘Go’ button you do not receive any confirmation mails, check the spam and junk folder of your Email. If Email is not received go back to the website and reset. And hence your account now will be deleted.
Check : Whatsapp Group Names for Friends
Also Read : Fastest Android Launchers
How to Delete the Kik History?
This thing must also be taken into consideration that, deactivating your account will now simple delete your conversations. For that you will have to explicitly delete the history as well. So here are the ways in which you can actually delete the history as well as the conversations you had with your friends.
Step 1: To start with deleting your Kik history, Start with opening your Kik app on your mobile device.
Step 2: Once you have opened Kik, find the gear or cog icon on the top right corner of the screen. If you still can’t find it, look at the speech bubble icon. You will find it up, right next to it. Step 3: Click on the icon, you will now be taken to the Settings menu.
Step 4: Once the settings are opened, click on the “Your Account” option.
Step 5: After clicking “Your Account” option, next your job will be to find and click the “Reset Kik Messenger” button near the bottom of the screen.
Step 6: Once you click it, click on “Yes” button in the confirmation pop-up that appears.
Step 7: Once you have clicked yes, it will delete all of the history and messages associated with your account. In addition, this will close Kik and log you out.
Now after step 7, if you wish to delete your account, you can proceed with the steps that I provided earlier in the post.
Reactivating your Kik account
We just looked at how to delete your kik account in some easy steps. But what if you want to rejoin Kik? For what so ever reason when you do intend to come back on Kik messenger it is possible and feasible to reactivate your account. But only if you have not followed the permanent deletion process to delete kik account. If you haven’t deleted your account permanently you can definitely restore your account as the information of every user gets stored in Kik servers. Now you know, why we were warning you before that you don’t actually need to delete kik account, you can simple deactivate it.
Meaning that you will be able to access your account even after deactivating it. Follow these steps to reactivate your deleted kik account–
- Install Kik on your phone.
- Open the app and tap Log In.
- Login using your username or email address and password.
Once you deactivate your account, you message history might have been disappeared, depending upon the method you opted in. once you reactivate, you will be able to see your conversation list, but as soon as you click them open, you won’t find any message there. Or a “Nothing yet”, message will be shown. But as soon as you will start your conversation, “nothing yet”, message will disappear.
I understand there were a long list of controversies that encircled Kik in the past few months. Kik as well as Instagram were even called inappropriate for kids below 13 or 14 (depending upon various laws in different countries). Child exploitation and Minors’ use of Kik was the primary concern of parents and law enforcement agencies. Following the above steps you can deactivate, reactivate and permanently delete your Kik account if you are done using it. Take a prolonged break or even close out one profile to set up an entirely new one. I hope the information provided in this post was satisfactory to you.